Managing locations & geofences

Manage locations and geofences for accurate time tracking

Fully harness Jibble’s employee GPS tracker by setting up and managing locations and geofences for your members to clock in and out of. This help article will guide you through the process of managing locations and geofences effectively, ensuring that your time tracking system is optimized for your business needs.

❗️ Important: Location tracking is only available on GPS enabled mobile devices.

This article covers:


Adding locations

  1. Go to Locations.
  2. Enter an address in the search bar on the map.Searching for locations via the search bar
  3. Select the full address from the search results.
  4. Click on Add New Location.Add new location button
  5. Edit the details of the location if necessary.
  6. Select the radius of the location.Adjusting details of a location💡 Tip: We recommend radiuses to be set to 300 meters to power features such as Geofence Reminders.
  7. Tap on Save.

❗️If you can’t find the exact location you need via the search functionality, you will be able enter the location coordinates manually.

  1. Enter an address in the search bar on the map.
  2. A dropdown menu will appear. Click on the Add missing location option. This will be listed as the last item of the dropdown list.Adding a missing location
  3. Drag and position the pin on the map to accurately capture your location.Moving pin to the correct location
  4. Click on Done.
  5. If adjustments are necessary, you can fine-tune your coordinates later in the sidebar.
  6. Adjust the pre-filled coordinates and fill in the details of the location.Adjusting details of a missing location
  7. Select the radius of the location.
  8. Tap on Save.

Searching for locations

When searching for locations, you have two options to streamline your results:

  1. Search Within Added Locations
    • This option narrows down results to only include existing locations in your list.
  2. Search Within New Locations
    •  This option broadens the search to include options not present in your existing locations.
  1. Go to Locations.
  2. Click on the dropdown arrow on the search bar.Clicking on the dropdown to refine location search
  3. Select whether you wish to search for New locations or Added locations.Searching within new or added locations
  4. If no selection is made, the search results will include both added and new locations, with added locations listed at the top and new locations at the bottom.
  5. Enter the name of an added/new location in the search field.

Editing locations

You will be able to edit the details of your locations, including the name, coordinates or radius of the location. Edits made to locations will not affect past time entries. 

Editing individual locations:
  1. Go to Locations.
  2. You can either use the Map view or List view.
  3. Click on a location you wish to edit.
  4. Click on the pencil icon to make changes.Button to edit or archive a location
  5. Adjust the necessary location details.Sidebar to edit location details
  6. Click Save.

 

Editing location radius in bulk:

For seamless location editing, you can adjust the radius of multiple locations in bulk. Bulk operations can only be done via List view

  1. Go to Locations.
  2. Click on List view on the top right corner.Selecting locations via list view
  3. Select the checkboxes next to the locations you wish to edit.
    Tip 💡:  Use the radius filter for targeted location results based on their current radius.
  4. Tap on Edit Radius.Editing location radius in bulk
  5. Choose a radius from the available options.Selecting a location radius in bulk
  6. Click Save.

Archiving locations

If a location is no longer in use, you can easily archive it, removing it from time tracking and filter lists. All archived locations are stored in the Archived Locations list at the bottom and can be restored at any time. All past time entries with this location will not be affected. 

Archiving individual locations:
  1. Go to Locations.
  2. You can either use the Map view or List view.
  3. Click on a location you wish to archive.
  4. Click the bin icon.Button to edit or archive a location
  5. Tap on Confirm.
Archiving locations in bulk:

Bulk operations can only be done via List view. 

  1. Go to Locations.
  2. Click on List view on the top right corner.Selecting locations via list view
  3. Select the checkboxes next to the locations you wish to archive.
  4. Click on the Archive button.Archiving locations in bulk
  5. Tap on Confirm.Confirmation message when archiving locations

Permanently deleting locations

  1. Go to Locations.
  2. Click on Archived Locations to view the archived list.
  3. Click on the Delete button on any location.Permanently delete locations by clicking on the delete button
  4. Confirm your action.

Related articles: