Roles and permissions in Jibble

The differences between members, managers, admins, and what they can / cannot do.

Roles and permissions in Jibble provide a powerful way to control access to different features and functionalities within your organization. By assigning specific roles to users, you can ensure that they have the appropriate level of access and authority. In this guide, we will delve into the various roles available in Jibble and the corresponding permissions associated with each role.

This article covers:


Roles in Jibble

There are a total of four roles in Jibble:

  • Owner

Every organisation has one organisation Owner. This role is assigned automatically to the user that creates an organization. The owner is a “super user” and has access to configure everything in the organization. There can only be one Owner for each organization, and they can never be removed.

If you wish to change the ownership of your organization, contact us as support@jibble.io.

  • Admin

The Admin role is designed for users who need full control over the organization’s settings, similar to what an Owner can do. By default, Admins will be able to:

  1. Add, edit and delete all team members in the organization
  2. Add, edit and delete time entries (timesheets) of all team members in the organization
  3. Make changes to organization settings

These permissions can also be customized per Admin via their individual profile settings (see below).

  • Manager

Managers have the authority to oversee and manage teams and employees assigned to them. By default, Managers will be able to:

  1. Customize group settings for the groups they manage
  2. Edit personal information of team members they manage
  3. Add, edit and delete time entries (timesheets) of team members they manage, including clocking and out for them

These permissions can also be customized per Manager via their individual profile settings, in case you might require a particular manager to possess additional permissions.

  • Member

Members are standard users who primarily use Jibble for clocking in and out and viewing their own timesheet records. Permissions applied to members cannot be configured individually and will apply to all Members in your organization.


Assigning roles

As an Owner or Admin, you will be able to change an employee’s role via their profile page.

  1. Go to People.
  2. Click on the user’s name.
  3. Hit the pencil icon next to the user’s name.
  4. Click on the “Role” field.Assigning roles to users on the web app
  5. Select between Member, Manager or Admin.Selecting between three role options on the web app
  6. Hit “Confirm” to update their role.

 

For quicker role assignments, you can change and update roles directly via the People tab.

  1. Go to People.
  2. Search for the user’s name.
  3. Hover on the person’s row.
  4. Click on the ellipsis (three-dot) icon at the end of the row.
  5. Click on “Change role”.Changing roles via ellipsis button on the web app
  6. Select between Member, Manager or Admin.Selecting between three role options on the web app
  7. Hit “Confirm” to update their role.

Note: The availability of roles and permissions may vary based on your subscription plan.


Permissions breakdown

  • Admins

The available permissions that can be configured for admins are:

  1. Edit organization settings – make adjustments to organization-wide settings such as time tracking settings, activities & projects, locations, time off settings and work schedules.
  2. Change subscription plans and configuration – modify subscription plans and adjust billing details, including upgrading or downgrading subscription tiers
  3. Manage organization integrations – enable and disable organization integrations
  4. Edit any person profile – make changes to the profiles of any user within the organization, including updating personal information, contact details, roles, and permissions
  5. Add and remove any person from organization – add new users to the organization or archive and delete existing ones
  6. Edit any person’s time entries and timesheets – access and edit time entries of any user within the organization, including approving or rejecting their time off requests
  7. Clock in and out for any person – clock in or out on behalf of any user within the organization, including entering their own PIN codes on kiosks to override clock in actions for users

Note: In the event that a permission affecting all users is disabled, admins will not be able to view or edit information related to members they do not manage. However, access to managed members remains consistently enabled by default.

  • Managers

The available permissions that can be configured for managers are:

  1. Customise settings for managed groups – configure group-specific settings such as time tracking settings and activity assignments of managed groups 
  2. View all people profiles and all groups – view profiles of all users within the organization and all groups, without the ability to edit
  3. Edit managed people profiles – make changes to the profiles of members they manage, including updating personal information and contact details
  4. Edit managed people time entries and timesheets – access and edit time entries of managed members, including approving or rejecting their time off requests
  5. View all people timesheets – view timesheets for all users across the organization, without the ability to edit
  6. Clock in and out for managed people – clock in or out on behalf of managed members, including entering their own PIN codes on kiosks to override clock in actions for managed members
  • Members

The available permission that can be configured for members is:

  1. View ‘Who’s In/Out’ widget – view other members in their group who are currently clocked out, clocked in or on break. If the member doesn’t belong to a group, this widget will be hidden even if the permission is enabled.

Refer to the table below for a brief overview of default permissions enabled by role:

table of the default settings per role

Customizing default role permissions

Default role permissions apply universally to all individuals within the organization who are assigned a specific role. Follow these steps to customize default role permissions:

  1. Go to Organization.
  2. Head to the Permissions tab.Default role permissions under organization tab
  3. Hit the pencil icon to make changes.
  4. Select the checkboxes for permissions you wish to enable.
    Note: Permissions are broken down according to role type.
  5. Hit “Save” to apply the updated settings.

Customized default permissions apply to all people who hold that role assignment, unless the permissions are individually overridden. Check out customizing individual permissions below.


Customizing individual permissions

Individual role permissions allow you to fine-tune access rights for specific users within a particular role. This lets you override default role permissions and make targeted adjustments based on each user’s responsibilities and needs.

You can customize individual-specific permissions by going to the person’s profile page. Individual permissions are only applicable to Admin and Manager roles and is only available on the Ultimate plan. 

  1. Go to People.
  2. Click on the user’s name.
  3. Scroll down to the “Permissions” section of their profile page.Individual role permissions under person profile pageNote: Individual permissions are only applicable to Admin and Manager roles.
  4. Hit the pencil icon next to Permissions.
  5. Enable or disable permission checkboxes as required.
  6. Click “Save” to update permission settings.